This Week In Combined Arms History

Display Week:
Monday, January 15, 2018 to Sunday, January 21, 2018

Few historians, and even fewer soldiers, remember the Caucasus campaign of the First World War.

Display Week:
Monday, January 29, 2018 to Sunday, February 4, 2018

Most Americans and nearly all historians are familiar with the famous U.S. Army airborne drops in Sicily, Salerno, and, most especially, Normandy during the Second World War.

Display Week:
Monday, January 8, 2018 to Sunday, January 14, 2018

Even the best plans rarely survive contact with the enemy. Complicated, joint operations are even more prone to disorder or collapse. The British and Allied assault on the Turks at the Gallipoli peninsula serves as a prime historical example.

Display Week:
Sunday, January 1, 2017 to Saturday, January 7, 2017

Leadership can turn the tide of battle. Mission Command, an aspect of leadership, is an important warfighting function and an invaluable resource.

Display Week:
Monday, December 11, 2017 to Sunday, December 17, 2017

By 1899, just two years after Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, the British Empire stood at its height. Britons had defeated Napoleon, checked Russia in the Crimea, and conquered one third of the planet.

Display Week:
Sunday, December 3, 2017 to Sunday, December 10, 2017

The Diplomatic Revolution of 1756 reset the longstanding, strategic geography of Europe.

Display Week:
Monday, December 25, 2017 to Sunday, December 31, 2017

Few remember the Russo-Finnish “Winter War” of 1939-40. The conflict preceded the famous, epic battles of World War II and did not involve the United States.

Display Week:
Monday, November 20, 2017 to Sunday, November 26, 2017

Few remember the many significant conventional battles fought over the last half century in the “developing world.” However, there is much to be gleaned from some of the more intense kinetic campaigns fought in this region, with both sides often

Display Week:
Monday, November 27, 2017 to Sunday, December 3, 2017

Austerlitz was Napoleon’s Cannae (Hannibal’s epic destruction of Roman legions in the 2nd Punic War). It remains probably the most studied Napoleonic battle besides Waterloo.

Display Week:
Monday, November 13, 2017 to Sunday, November 19, 2017

The Battle of Ia Drang has been memorialized in a best-selling book and on the silver screen with the film We Were Soldiers. However, the brutal combat of LZ-X Ray has more than simple entertainment value.

Pages