This Week In Combined Arms History

Display Week:
Monday, June 24, 2019 to Sunday, June 30, 2019

The French Revolution kicked off on 14 July 1789. From almost the start, the new revolutionary government was facing threat of extinction from military invasions on all sides.

Display Week:
Monday, June 17, 2019 to Sunday, June 23, 2019

He didn’t always win. Despite his tactical genius and repeated ability to beat the odds and pull off a victory, even Frederick the Great was beatable. After all, he spent nearly 24 years leading his kingdom in near continuous warfare.

Display Week:
Monday, June 10, 2019 to Sunday, June 16, 2019

During a brutal and bloody spring (Overland) campaign in which General U.S.

Display Week:
Monday, June 3, 2019 to Sunday, June 9, 2019

On June 6, 1944, Allied soldiers returned to liberate continental Europe during Operation OVERLORD.

Display Week:
Monday, May 27, 2019 to Sunday, June 2, 2019

The battle for Okinawa was the last major ground campaign in the Pacific theater of World War II. It was a bloody endeavor that took nearly 3 months and required both U.S. Army and U.S. Marine elements.

Display Week:
Monday, May 20, 2019 to Sunday, May 26, 2019

By 1864, the Confederate invasion of Pennsylvania had been repulsed at Gettysburg and General U.S. Grant was relentlessly driving towards Richmond in the east. Vicksburg had fallen in the west and the Mississippi was, once and for all, a Yankee river. Still, the war was far from over. Casualties soared in the Union armies and it looked as though Lincoln might lose his reelection bid in November. A great victory was needed, and the Union looked to General Sherman to seize Atlanta.

Display Week:
Monday, May 13, 2019 to Sunday, May 19, 2019

Early in the war for the Austrian Succession (1740-48), Frederick the Great of Prussia seized the valuable Austrian province of Silesia. For the next few years, Prussia faced invasions by the Austrians and their allies.

Display Week:
Monday, May 6, 2019 to Sunday, May 12, 2019

For the first three years of the American Civil War, Confederate cavalry literally and figuratively rode circles around their Union counterparts.

Display Week:
Monday, April 29, 2019 to Sunday, May 5, 2019

After the initial defeat of Napoleon in 1814, the former emperor was exiled to the island of Elba.

Display Week:
Monday, April 22, 2019 to Sunday, April 28, 2019

It was an Irish “Lost Cause.” The doomed weeklong rising of Irish Republicans (nationalists) against British rule in Dublin may not have achieved military victory, but it inspired generations of Irishmen.

Pages