Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner


Definition/Scope: Republic in east-central Africa south of the Equator, covering an area of 10,740 square miles. The capital is Bujumbura. To the north it is bounded by Rwanda, to the east and south by Tanzania, to the southwest by Lake Tanganyika, and to the west by Congo (Kinshasa). Burundi extends only about 215 miles from north to south and 165 miles from east to west.

Used For:

Republic of Burundi



Broader Terms:

Central Africa
independent states (by name)

Narrower Terms:

Kayanza Province, Burundi

Related Terms:

IMF members
UN members
UN Office in Burundi

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008