Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner

35th Infantry Division (ARNG)

Definition/Scope: The 35th Infantry Division is located in historic Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas overlooking the Missouri river. Named after the route the famous explorers Lewis and Clark called the Santa Fe Trail, the 35th has a long history of deployments throughout its existence. Reactivated in 1984, the 35th was converted to a modular division in September 2005. Units in the 35th come from three states, KS, MO and Illinois. The 35th Division organized on August 25, 1917, at Camp Doniphan, Oklahoma, with National Guard units from Kansas and Missouri. The 35th Division's nickname, “Santa Fe Division”, along with its distinctive patch, the wagon wheel, was derived from the Santa Fe Trail which ran near Camp Doniphan. The 35th deployed to France in May 1918 for World War I and participated in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive; Alsace, 1918; and Loraine, 1918. Captain Harry S. Truman (later 33rd President of the United States) served as a commander in Missouri's 129th Field Artillery. The unit also had two soldiers receive the Medal of Honor for heroism in combat in World War I. The 35th Division returned to the United States and was inactivated in May 1918. President Franklin D. Roosevelt mobilized the 35th Division for World War II on December 23, 1940. After four years of training, the 35th Division landed on Omaha Beach on July 5, 1944. During the ensuing eight months of combat the unit received five battle streamers, Normandy; Northern France; Rhineland; Ardennes-Alsace; and Central Europe, and six Presidential Unit Citations. One soldier received the Medal of Honor for heroism in Combat. Noted soldiers who served with the unit during World War II include Major General Butler B. Miltonberger who became the first post-World War II National Guard Bureau Chief, and Major General Francis S. Greenlief, who served as Chief National Guard Bureau, 1971-1974. The Division returned to the United States in July 1945 and was inactivated in December 1945. Again, in August, 1984 units from Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Kentucky, and Colorado reorganized and re-designated as the 35th Infantry Division (Mechanized). Since its reorganization, the 35th Division has continued to evolve in order to meet new challenges, missions and responsibilities. It now consists of units principally from Kansas, Missouri, and Illinois. Several of its units and Headquarters have been mobilized since 1996 for missions in the Middle East (Saudi, Sanai) and post 9/11 missions to include Operations Enduring Freedom (Germany, Bosnia, Afghanistan, Kosovo), Operations Iraqi Freedom, and Operation Noble Eagle (Conus). The 35th ID has the following subordinate units: 66th Infantry Brigade, 67th Infantry Brigade, 149th Armor Brigade, Division Artillery, 35th Aviation Brigade, 35th Engineer Brigade, and the Division Support Command.


35th ID

Broader Terms:

ARNG Infantry divisions

Related Terms:

Fort Leavenworth
Sante Fe Division

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008