Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner

Combined Maritime Forces

Definition/Scope: (CMF) The Combined Maritime Forces is comprised of three principle task forces: CTF 150, CTF 151 and CTF 152. It includes approximately three dozen ships from Australia, France, Germany, Italy, Pakistan, Canada, Denmark, Turkey, the U.S. and U.K., as well as other naval forces and personnel from several other nations. Combined Maritime Forces (CMF) patrols more than 2.5 million square miles of international waters to conduct both integrated and coordinated operations with a common purpose: to increase the security and prosperity of the region by working together for a better future. CMF is working to defeat terrorism, prevent piracy, reduce illegal trafficking of people and drugs, and promote the maritime environment as a safe place for mariners with legitimate business. CMF counters violent extremism and terrorist networks in maritime areas of responsibility; works with regional and other partners to improve overall security and stability; helps strengthen regional nations’ maritime capabilities and, when requested, responds to environmental and humanitarian crises.



Broader Terms:

U.S. Naval Forces Central Command/5th Fleet
US Naval Forces Central Command
US Navy

Narrower Terms:

Combined Task Force 150
Combined Task Force 151
Combined Task Force 152
CTF Iraqi Maritime
Maritime Security Patrol Area

Related Terms:

Maritime Security Operations
North Atlantic Treaty Organization

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008