Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner

Naval Strike and Air Warfare Center

Definition/Scope: The Naval Strike and Air Warfare Center (NSAWC) at Naval Air Station Fallon is the center of excellence for naval aviation training and tactics development. NSAWC provides service to aircrews, squadrons and air wings throughout the United States Navy through flight training, academic instructional classes, and direct operational and intelligence support. NSAWC flies and maintains F/A-18 Hornets, F-14 Tomcats and SH-60F Seahawk helicopters. NSAWC is the primary authority on training and tactics development. NSAWC provides training, assessment, aviation requirements recommendations, research and development priorities for integrated strike warfare, maritime and overland air superiority, strike fighter employment, airborne battle management, Combat Search and Rescue, Close Air Support, and associated planning support systems. The command is also responsible for the development, implementation, and administration of several courses of instruction while functioning as the Navy point of contact for all issues relating to the Air Combat Training Continuum. Additionally, NSAWC is the Navy point of contact for all issues related to the Fallon Range Training Complex. NSAWC consists of nine departments. Personnel Resources (N1) oversees administrative functions, supply, security, automated information systems, and first lieutenant. The Intelligence Department (N2) provides support to air wing training in Fallon as well as to fleets and battle groups based all over the world. Operations (N3) manages scheduling for aircraft, aircrew, the training ranges, and keeps aircrew log books and records. The Maintenance Department (N4) maintains all NSAWC aircraft, including parts and supplies, manages the loading, unloading and storage of ordnance, and maintains aircrew flight equipment. Plans, Programs and Tactics (N5) is involved in tactics development and assessment for tactical aircraft and SH-60 helicopters, program management and participation, mission planning, and inter/intra service liaison. The C41/C2W Department (N6) provides graduate-level command, control, communication, and computer intelligence and battle management training to E-2 aircrew, and joint inter-operability training to naval warfare communities, U.S. Air Force, and NATO commands. The Training and Standardization Department (N7) instructs graduate-level strike-fighter employment through the "TOPGUN" Strike Fighter Tactics Instructor (SFTI) course. It also conducts the Strike Leader Attack Training Syllabus (SLATS) and Senior Officers Course (SOC); and manages air wing power projection training. The Range Department (N8) oversees and manages the usage, maintenance, and operation of equipment in the Fallon Range Training Complex (FRTC), including the Advanced Data Display System (ADDS). Finally, the Operational Risk Management/Safety Department (N9) manages air-and-ground related safety programs as well as medical training programs.



Broader Terms:

Naval Air Station Fallon
US Navy

Narrower Terms:

F-14 Tomcat
F/A-18 Hornet
SH-60 Seahawk (LAMPS III)

Related Terms:

Joint Terminal Air Controller
joint terminal attack controller

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008