Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner

1st Special Forces Group (Airborne)

Definition/Scope: The 1st Special Forces Group (Airborne) was activated on 04 October 1960 in Okinawa, Japan. After numerous years they were de-activated on 30 June 1974 at Ft. Bragg, NC. However they were re-activated on 01 September 1984 with the 1st Battalion, 1st Special Forces Group, to be stationed at Ft. Bragg with a forward deployed unit to Tori Station, Okinawa. The remaining Headquarters Company with 2nd and 3rd Battalions were activated and stationed at Fort Lewis, Washington. Their area of responsibility includes the following countries: Australia, Mauritius, Bangladesh, Micronesia, Federated States of Bhutan, Mongolia, Burma (Myanmar), Nauru, Cambodia, Nepal, China, Niue, Comoros, New Zealand, Brunei, Republic of Palau, Cook Islands, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Philippines, New Caledonia/French Polynesia (France), Russia, India, Samoa, Indonesia, Singapore, Japan, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Sri Lanka, Korea, Republic of Taiwan, Korea, North Thailand, Laos, Tonga, Madagascar, Tuvalu, Malaysia, Vanuatu, Maldives, Vietnam, Republic of Marshall Islands.


1st SFG (ABN)

Broader Terms:

Army special forces
Fort Lewis
US Army Special Forces Command (Airborne)

Narrower Terms:

guerrilla warfare
Humanitarian Assistance
mobile training team
Special Forces Operational Detachment A
Special Forces Operational Detachment B

Related Terms:

10th Special Forces Group (Airborne)
19th Special Forces Group (Airborne)
1st Special Forces Group (Airborne)
20th Special Forces Group (Airborne, ARNG)
3rd Special Forces Group (Airborne)
5th Special Forces Group (Airborne)
7th Special Forces Group (Airborne)
Special Forces Groups

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008