Center for Army Lessons Learned - Thesaurus
CALL title banner

South Africa

Definition/Scope: Southernmost country on the African continent. It has an area of 470,693 square miles. It measures almost 1,000 miles from north to south, as well as from east to west. South Africa is bordered by Namibia to the northwest, by Botswana and Zimbabwe to the north, and by Mozambique and Swaziland to the northeast and east. The capitals are Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial). The four original provinces of South Africa-- Cape of Good Hope, Orange Free State, T

Used For:

Republic of South Africa
Union of South Africa



Broader Terms:

independent states (by name)
Southern Africa

Narrower Terms:

Cape Town, South Africa
Eastern Cape, South Africa
Free State, South Africa
Gauteng, South Africa
KwaZulu/Natal, South Africa
Limpopo Province, South Africa
Mpumalanga, South Africa
North-West Province, South Africa
Northern Cape, South Africa
Northern Province, South Africa
Western Cape, South Africa

Related Terms:

IMF members
Lesotho, Southern Africa
UN members
Walvis Bay

CALL Homepage >> Thesaurus Last Updated: Sept 17, 2008